PDA

View Full Version : Polygamist sect victim of hoax?

04-18-2008, 03:16 AM
http://deseretnews.com/article/1,5143,695271689,00.html

Im probably going to take a rather controversial stand on this issue since i know the feelings of alot of you on this board. I don't know how well you've been following the polygamist "compound" being raided a few weeks ago on a supposed phone call alleging abuse that resulted in the entire communities children being taken away from them. With the link above, it looks like the woman who made the original phone calls alleging abuse may have been found, and those calls were a hoax.

I am rather mixed on the issue here. I detest these polygamists. And if there is abuse going on it needs to be taken care of immediately. But I am also a defense attorney, and quite honestly, the magnitude of the action taken here frightens me.

Since the story broke, I've had seen a number of stories that have m concerned on what's going on. First, it seemed odd that, from the evidence I've seen, two inconsistant phone calls from the same person provided the officers with enough probable cause to not only search the community to the extent they did but to remove 400+ children from their homes. Obviously, if there has been child abuse, the matter needs to be solved. The abusers need to go to jail and we have to do something to protect the children. But removing all the children regardless of whether there is evidence of abuse? It just seems very excessive.

in addition, it's also been clear that the some of the Texas Lawmakers have been specifically changing legislation to give the law enforcement power to go after this group. Texas Legislature discusses changing law in response to sect moving there (http://www.nytimes.com/2008/04/12/us/12raid.html?_r=1&em&ex=1208145600&en=a49bdc808f6af04e&ei=5087%0A&oref=slogin)