PDA

View Full Version : redistibution of wealth.....

manu1959
05-09-2008, 12:15 AM
http://www.leaderu.com/offices/cleveland/docs/justice.html

Why does government tend to stray from its proper role in society? There are two reasons. As Bastiat pointed out, government is diverted from its true course as a result of greed and false philanthropy.{5} The first of these is self-evident. Tyrants always have an interest in gaining political control over people to wield the sword of the state for their own selfish ends. How better to steal than to gain control of government and use it to carry out one's own evil schemes with impunity!

As a college professor, I have taught long enough to expect a grade distribution among my students. Some students work harder, others are more naturally gifted, some students are better prepared to take the course, and still others are more conscientious about classroom attendance. Thus, even though they all complete the same assignments, inevitably they do not all receive the same grade.

Suppose for a moment that I decided that this inequality of grades was unacceptable and that I determined to eliminate this situation by redistributing test scores. Imagine how the better students would feel upon learning that their scores had been reduced as a result of my grade redistribution plan. There is no doubt that they would not think highly of it. In addition, it would not make them feel better about the situation if I offered to put the plan up for a vote among their classmates because their side would lose. A democracy alone cannot guarantee justice.