PDA

View Full Version : Academic Snobbishness

Hobbit
07-22-2008, 02:30 PM
My mom is an English teacher at a government school (one of the few who actually tries to get the kids to LEARN), so I have access to the reading curriculum, and I've noticed an alarming trend. The books that students must read for high school have not changed since I graduated from high school 8 years ago. Even more alarming, though, is that they also haven't changed since my mom graduated from high school 37 years ago. Now, classics like Huckleberry Finn (which was one of the best books I ever read right up until Tom Sawyer showed up and Mark Twain just stopped trying) and The Lord of the Flies are the only ones being considered for removal due to being 'inappropriate,' with the charge that Huck Finn is racist being the most ridiculous. On the other hand, turds like Jane Eyre, which studies would probably indicate causes sharp drops in testosterone levels, are staunchly clung to as they continue to bore over half the class to tears year after year. Then there's Shakespeare, who you must read EVERY YEAR, and the four plays that have been used in curricula for who knows how long, while arguably the best he has to offer, are also the most depressing.