PDA

View Full Version : Rental Law

jackass
12-12-2008, 08:10 AM
Ok. Anyone know anything about rental law? I recently moved out of the house we were renting. I was charged $650.00 to paint 2 rooms of the house. Needless to say that seems extremely overpriced. The house was not painted before we moved in and we had lived there for 2 years. Wouldnt this fall under normal wear and tear? Does anyone know the law about the need to paint between tenants? Thanks

Mr. P
12-12-2008, 08:58 AM
Check this out.

http://www.rentlaw.com/normalweartear.htm

PostmodernProphet
12-12-2008, 10:36 AM
I have been specializing in landlord tenant law for 28 years, but more than any other area of law, landlord/tenant varies from state to state....here is my website..... www.michiganlandlord.info

crin63
12-12-2008, 10:43 AM
When I was in a situation with a landlord I went California's website and read up on tenants rights. It was quite helpful.

The landlord wanted to almost double my rent in 30 days. I couldn't afford it and had to find another place to live. California law said he had to give me 60 or 90 days notice in writing of any increase of more than 10%. He wasn't happy but it gave me time to find another place to live.

Yurt
12-12-2008, 11:38 AM
When I was in a situation with a landlord I went California's website and read up on tenants rights. It was quite helpful.

The landlord wanted to almost double my rent in 30 days. I couldn't afford it and had to find another place to live. California law said he had to give me 60 or 90 days notice in writing of any increase of more than 10%. He wasn't happy but it gave me time to find another place to live.

yes the CA is very helpful. JA, check not only the state's websites, but search landlord/tenant lawyers like PMP (though not someone whose website says they assist the landlord:laugh2:), sometimes they will put up helpful information or at least point you in the right direction.