PDA

View Full Version : Is swine flu more lethal than other "ordinary" flu bugs?

Little-Acorn
04-29-2009, 10:24 AM
I'm not a doctor, and don't know much about these diseases other than what's on the news (a VERY suspect source).

The news has been full of alarming pronouncements on this "swine flu". But I've never heard anyone say why. Maybe I just listened at the wrong time.

Flu season happens every year, and lots of people get flu every year. And some of them die, every year.

I've now heard that a grand total of 7 people have died in the US from Swine Flu this year. How many people had died last year from whatever flu bug had hit, by the end of April?

More tellingly, out of all the people who have contracted swine flu, what percentage have died? And, out of all the people who contracted "ordinary" flu, what percentage have died?

I know, flu season isn't over yet, and some people who are going to die from SF this year, are still alive today. True also for the other flu bugs.

But you see the gist here. Is the swine flu any more lethal than other "ordinary" flu bugs? Anyone see any studies or medical reports etc., that indicate that SF kills more of its victims than other flu bugs?

mundame
04-29-2009, 10:42 AM
We simply don't know yet what the mortality is, is what I am hearing from both the news and CDC docs people on forums know personally.

Mexico has bad public health systems and poor people cannot get treated. So no wonder people die. Also, it is probably spreading widely to millions there, so even a small percentage mortality would cause deaths.

"Normal" influenza has a mortality rate of about 0.05, IIRC. Very small, anyway. BUT ----------- millions get it!! So 36,000 die of influenza (actually, from the pneumonia secondary to it) every year.