PDA

View Full Version : HELP! trigger finger..

stephanie
07-08-2009, 09:17 AM
I believe I have what is called trigger finger in one of my thumbs..I haven't seen a doctor yet, but I'm researching ways on the net to cure without having to have surgery...

anyone familiar with this??? and a home remedy cure?

it is on my right hand and is interfering with my life..and it urts..

Kathianne
07-08-2009, 09:26 AM
I'm no doctor, but here's what I found:

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/trigger-finger/DS00155

Definition
By Mayo Clinic staff
Trigger finger is a condition in which one of your fingers or your thumb catches in a bent position. Your finger or thumb may straighten with a snap — like a trigger being pulled and released. If trigger finger is severe, your finger may become locked in a bent position.

Often painful, trigger finger is caused by a narrowing of the sheath that surrounds the tendon in the affected finger. People whose work or hobbies require repetitive gripping actions are more susceptible. Trigger finger is also more common in women than in men, and in anyone with diabetes.

Treatment of trigger finger, also known as stenosing tenosynovitis, varies depending on the severity.

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/trigger-finger/DS00155/DSECTION=symptoms

Symptoms
By Mayo Clinic staff
Symptoms of trigger finger may progress in the following way:

At first, your affected finger may seem stiff and may click when you move it. You may notice a bump (nodule) or tenderness at the base of the affected finger in your palm. This is the spot where the tendon is likely catching.
As trigger finger worsens, your finger may catch at times in a bent position and then suddenly pop straight.
Eventually, the finger may not fully straighten.