PDA

View Full Version : For our Attorneys on the Board

Mr. P
09-18-2009, 01:35 PM
Define "Legal Advice" vs "Information".

Where is the line between one and the other?

chesswarsnow
09-18-2009, 09:10 PM
Sorry bout that,

1. Im no lawyer, but one is paid for the others free.
2. The freebie may not be complete either.

Regards,
SirJamesofTexas

Mr. P
09-18-2009, 10:58 PM
PMP, AV, Abbey????????

jimnyc
09-19-2009, 12:45 AM

While not an attorney, I've seen the subject discussed before. I think by "legal advice", you would mean paid advice from a bar certified attorney, as opposed to "information", which is what a friend might offer as advice in passing. Or at least that would be by definition.

I believe lawyers when being paid for advice are obviously held to higher standards and ethics, and there can be malpractice and/or legal battles within themselves if their is faulty work performed for a client and damages can be awarded.

What I'm offering you right now is simply "advice" if you want to look at it that way, and no client/attorney relationship is being performed at all. No client/attorney relationship, then the advice giver likely can't be held responsible in any way.

I'd still wait for the others. My advice and $2 will get you a cup of coffee here in NY!

Mr. P
09-19-2009, 01:09 AM

I should rephrase my question.

Define "Legal Advice" vs " Legal Information".

jimnyc
09-19-2009, 01:42 AM
I should rephrase my question.

Define "Legal Advice" vs " Legal Information".

Legal information and legal advice can both be useful in many different situations. However, it is important to know when you need one or the other. Legal advice can only be provided by a licensed attorney. Legal advice is when an attorney applies his or her legal expertise to your specific fact situation, and tells you how you should proceed.