PDA

View Full Version : Taking the next career step

gabosaurus
05-13-2007, 10:41 PM
I am one year away from completing my masters degree program in adolescent psychology. At this time next year, I hope to be officially employed as a counselor for at risk teens.
The past couple of years, I have worked with Orange County schools as an intern counselor. I was able to work with kids (mostly girls ages 13-18), but I had to work with a regular counselor.
Now that I have a degree and grad student status, I can work with kids on my own. They will be my own cases, making my own decisions.
I start tomorrow, working in the Anaheim schools. It's exciting, but extremely frightening and a bit unnerving.
It's times like these where I wish I drank heavily. :cheers2:

Pale Rider
05-13-2007, 10:46 PM
My God.... and we wonder what's wrong with the youth of today... :uhoh:

stephanie
05-13-2007, 10:56 PM
Congratulations Gabby...

I'm sure you'll keep that quirky side we see of you, just for the Internet boards..:laugh2:

Don't let the nerves overwhelm you....Good luck, and be the true, compassionate, caring person you can be....

No politics in your job, though....:cheers2:

Mr. P
05-13-2007, 11:03 PM
Gab, forget the book shit and use common sense.

Well, don't really forget the book stuff, just keep it in the background, common sense first.

Got it?

Pale Rider
05-13-2007, 11:04 PM
I'm sure you'll keep that quirky side we see of you, just for the Internet boards..:laugh2:
Let's hope so.

No politics in your job, though....:cheers2:
Now there's where your requests will fall short I'm afraid.

stephanie
05-13-2007, 11:09 PM
Let's hope so.

Now there's where your requests will fall short I'm afraid.

One can hope...

gabosaurus
05-13-2007, 11:12 PM
The public/personal side of me is a direct 180 from what I post here. Politics is not a part of my marriage, and it is not a part of my job. In fact, DP is the only place where I discuss politics.