PDA

View Full Version : Major Hacker Becomes FBI Informant

SassyLady
03-06-2012, 05:44 PM
Wonder how the Anonymous guys are feeling now that someone is exposing them?

<tbody>
Hackers busted after one becomes FBI informant
By LARRY NEUMEISTER and RAPHAEL SATTER
Associated Press

</tbody>

NEW YORK (AP) -- The shadowy underworld of Internet hackers was rocked by news Tuesday that one of the world's most-wanted and most-feared computer vandals has been an FBI informant for months and helped authorities build a case against five alleged comrades.

The FBI said it captured the legendary hacker known as "Sabu" last June, and he turned out to be Hector Xavier Monsegur, 28, a self-taught, unemployed computer programmer with no college education, living on welfare in public housing in New York.

His exploits made him a hero to some in cyberspace until he made a rookie mistake - he posted something online without cloaking his IP address, or computer identity - and someone tipped off the FBI.

Soon after his arrest, he pleaded guilty and began spilling secrets, leading to charges Tuesday against five people in Europe and the U.S., including a Chicago man, and preventing more than 300 attacks along the way, authorities said.

Law enforcement officials said it marked the first time core members of the loosely organized worldwide hacking group Anonymous have been identified and charged in the U.S.

Investigators said Monsegur and the other defendants were all associated with the group, and some were also part of the elite spinoff organization that Monsegur formed last May, Lulz Security or LulzSec. "Lulz" is Internet slang for "laughs" or "amusement."

http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/U/US_HACKING_ARRESTS?SITE=AP&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT&CTIME=2012-03-06-10-09-43

More from article:

Some Anonymous members put on a brave face.
"Anonymous is a hydra, cut off one head and we grow two back," read one defiant message posted to Twitter.