PDA

View Full Version : I am aware, working on it, sorry!



jimnyc
10-03-2012, 06:49 PM
I don't think anyone can see this, but I am aware of the issue and working on it.

Noir
10-03-2012, 06:52 PM
Yay, not just me ^,^
Thread posts can be viewed through the Forum Runner App.

jimnyc
10-03-2012, 08:07 PM
You all have my sincerest apologies for the long downtime. It was several factors that kept the board from loading, server side, and then after that, there were also some issues on the software side of vBulletin. And while the site is back and operational, I think we still may have a couple of outstanding issues. For starters, the "thank you hack" had to be disabled in order to get the threads to load once again. I will try re-installing without uninstalling, but there are no guarantees that the old "thanks" will remain. For that fact, there is no guarantee that it will work at all, old data or not. I also notice that the editor here above where I am typing appears different, and I will be looking for a correction to that. Please update this thread with other issues you may find. And again, you have my apologies. I don't feel well, and I've been sitting here at my computer for about the past 5-6 hours straight trying to get everything sorted.

aboutime
10-03-2012, 08:12 PM
Take care of YOURSELF first jimnyc. We can all talk about the DEBATE tomorrow when you feel better, and have time to get some rest.
We appreciate your tireless efforts but....YOU COME FIRST.

Abbey
10-03-2012, 08:33 PM
Don't worry Jim. It's all good. :beer:

jimnyc
10-03-2012, 08:39 PM
Can someone tell me I'm not hallucinating from staring at my screen for so long! When typing a new post, the editor just above it where you click to put the font or size or bold and the other crap. To me - it seems lighter, grayed, or something missing. But I can't figure it out and it's driving me nuts!

Robert A Whit
10-03-2012, 08:50 PM
Can someone tell me I'm not hallucinating from staring at my screen for so long! When typing a new post, the editor just above it where you click to put the font or size or bold and the other crap. To me - it seems lighter, grayed, or something missing. But I can't figure it out and it's driving me nuts!

Jimmy

I thought somebody banned me.

Don't ask me why, but there may be a left winger who wants to ban me to evade my comments.

Can you please send me by e mail a note from you. I will reply and then your e mail will be locked into google mail and I can ask you should I have any problems.

Thanks.

Also, just looked at my permissions and this shows up.



You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts




BB code (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=bbcode) is On
Smilies (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=showsmilies) are On
[IMG] (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=bbcode#imgcode) code is On
[VIDEO] (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=bbcode#videocode) code is On
HTML code is On

Abbey
10-03-2012, 08:52 PM
Can someone tell me I'm not hallucinating from staring at my screen for so long! When typing a new post, the editor just above it where you click to put the font or size or bold and the other crap. To me - it seems lighter, grayed, or something missing. But I can't figure it out and it's driving me nuts!

I'm not sure about the graying. I did notice that my edit didn't appear to be saving; the post just sits there. But when I backed out of it, the edits were saved.

jimnyc
10-03-2012, 09:02 PM
Jimmy

I thought somebody banned me.

Don't ask me why, but there may be a left winger who wants to ban me to evade my comments.

Can you please send me by e mail a note from you. I will reply and then your e mail will be locked into google mail and I can ask you should I have any problems.

Thanks.

Also, just looked at my permissions and this shows up.



You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts



BB code (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=bbcode) is On
Smilies (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=showsmilies) are On
[IMG] (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=bbcode#imgcode) code is On
[VIDEO] (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=bbcode#videocode) code is On
HTML code is On



Can you tell me where you are seeing this? Your account looks fine...

jimnyc
10-03-2012, 09:05 PM
Jimmy

I thought somebody banned me.

Don't ask me why, but there may be a left winger who wants to ban me to evade my comments.

Can you please send me by e mail a note from you. I will reply and then your e mail will be locked into google mail and I can ask you should I have any problems.

Thanks.

Also, just looked at my permissions and this shows up.



You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts



BB code (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=bbcode) is On
Smilies (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=showsmilies) are On
[IMG] (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=bbcode#imgcode) code is On
[VIDEO] (http://www.debatepolicy.com/misc.php?do=bbcode#videocode) code is On
HTML code is On



Robert, I just realized where you saw this - at the bottom of this thread/forum. Only staff members have rights to start new threads in this section, but everyone has rights to reply.

logroller
10-03-2012, 09:14 PM
Everything looks fine to me. Weird chain of events, and a healthy imagine led me suspect DP's servers may have been in some Turkish border town. Phew. :laugh:

jimnyc
10-03-2012, 09:20 PM
I believe I've been able to correct the thanks system and also appears we didn't lose any settings.

I'm whooped. I need to run a backup later tonight, as this server we are on really screwed me good, so I want to ensure all my T's are crossed and I's dotted. So if it's a little slow latter for like 1/2 an hour, that's me doing a backup.

Outside of that, I need to get my eyesight back and away from this screen!!

jimnyc
10-03-2012, 09:31 PM
I believe I've been able to correct the thanks system and also appears we didn't lose any settings.

I'm whooped. I need to run a backup later tonight, as this server we are on really screwed me good, so I want to ensure all my T's are crossed and I's dotted. So if it's a little slow latter for like 1/2 an hour, that's me doing a backup.

Outside of that, I need to get my eyesight back and away from this screen!!

I had missed something, in case someone had received a thanks and clicked on "recent thanks" since my last post, they may have seen a blank page. It should be sorted now.

But PLEASE, if anyone sees any other issues, please update this thread!

gabosaurus
10-03-2012, 09:42 PM
Sometimes I have to refresh several times to get the board. Otherwise, I get this:

Warning: [function.include (http://www.debatepolicy.com/function.include)]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in class_core.php on line 3326

Warning: include() [function.include (http://www.debatepolicy.com/function.include)]: Failed opening 'config.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:') in /class_core.php on line 3326


Configuration: config.php does not exist. Please fill out the data in config.php.new and rename it to config.php

jimnyc
10-03-2012, 09:51 PM
Sometimes I have to refresh several times to get the board. Otherwise, I get this:

Warning: [function.include (http://www.debatepolicy.com/function.include)]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in class_core.php on line 3326

Warning: include() [function.include (http://www.debatepolicy.com/function.include)]: Failed opening 'config.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:') in /class_core.php on line 3326


Configuration: config.php does not exist. Please fill out the data in config.php.new and rename it to config.php

The config error I am aware of, it was just bad timing, as I've been renaming and uploading a lot of files. You likely refreshed the home page or a thread while I had renamed the old file, and technically it didn't exist until I uploaded the new one.

I'm looking into the core error now...

jimnyc
10-03-2012, 09:54 PM
The config error I am aware of, it was just bad timing, as I've been renaming and uploading a lot of files. You likely refreshed the home page or a thread while I had renamed the old file, and technically it didn't exist until I uploaded the new one.

I'm looking into the core error now...

Wait a minute, my bad, I believe you get that core error while the other file is missing. I believe there were quite a few times where I was working on that file, hence it missing, and hence the errors. But let me keep looking anyway...

jimnyc
10-04-2012, 07:19 AM
Sorry all, fell asleep last night before I could get a backup done, am going to do so now, it might get a tad slow for a few minutes, not sure...

mundame
10-04-2012, 07:30 AM
Thanks for working so hard for us, Jimmy.

So many major sites go down regularly; Yahoo Mail is almost impossible around noon, many days. I honestly think there is a LOT more hacking than we are being told about.

Political forums get attacked a lot, I read.

taft2012
10-04-2012, 08:29 AM
Nothing to apologize for Jim.

Admittedly I did have to wait overnight before I could get back to computer this morning to call FJ a "whimpering little bitch." :laugh:

jimnyc
10-04-2012, 01:42 PM
Crap, obsessed with this again today. Definitely hacked as I found about 60-70 suspect files that aren't supposed to be there. I removed all of them and uninstalled software we no longer use. A few hiccups, but trying my best. Again, PLEASE let me know if you see further issues. It's possible I have deleted needed things or made mistakes, so feedback is crucial!!

Sorry all!!

jimnyc
10-04-2012, 01:48 PM
Gotta go pick up my mother in law... Kathianne PM'd me an issue with posting, I think it's been sorted, but I should be back in about half an hour if something else is broke.

(also posting this to ensure I can post!)

fj1200
10-04-2012, 01:49 PM
I was getting a fatal error with posting as well.

EDIT:

Cool, appears fixed.

Anton Chigurh
10-04-2012, 01:57 PM
Definitely hacked as I found about 60-70 suspect files that aren't supposed to be there.The bane of vB4, it's all too common of a occurrence. It's vulnerable and will remain so.

Kathianne
10-04-2012, 01:59 PM
I had a problem, couldn't post. Here either. Jim fixed it pronto! :thewave:


TG for pm's!

jimnyc
10-04-2012, 02:50 PM
I was getting a fatal error with posting as well.

EDIT:

Cool, appears fixed.

Yeah, there were some scraps in a file I found, which was actually needed, and I deleted it. I had to re-upload the original.


The bane of vB4, it's all too common of a occurrence. It's vulnerable and will remain so.

I hear ya, I just wish I knew for sure. I don't have access to the full server logs, and my host claims no one opened any of these suspect files other than me. If someone injected bogus files, or data into existing files, they may not get the exact person who is responsible, but they should be able to at least see when it was done and to which files. Useless bastards were pretty much NO help at all. But believe it or not, while vB4 might be less secure than older versions, the support team there was extremely helpful to me.


I had a problem, couldn't post. Here either. Jim fixed it pronto! :thewave:


TG for pm's!

I'm glad I was able to get on it quickly. As soon as you shared the error with me, I knew exactly what it was.

jimnyc
10-04-2012, 03:10 PM
Unfortunately, I have uninstalled the "vmoods" software that allowed you to select your mod. It was a novelty anyway. It was programmed in 2010 and the programmer is no longer working with vB and no updates are available. Not taking any chances, so I axed it.

jimnyc
10-04-2012, 04:00 PM
I had an additional update to do, which was the stats at the top of the board. For whatever reason, the developer changed the image files (the little squares next to the new posts). They were blue and white, as opposed to the now yellow and blue, which is what we always had before. What a PITA!! It took me forever to figure out where the hell it was stored at, but I believe that's sorted now too.

And yes, I see that there's a little slowness in loading, but this time it was the google ads, which I have temporarily removed. I will replace them, so don't get excited, along with the paypal donate button! LOL but right now I think we've dealt with enough, and it's slowing down all of my testing.

Anton Chigurh
10-04-2012, 07:53 PM
I hear ya, I just wish I knew for sure. I don't have access to the full server logs, and my host claims no one opened any of these suspect files other than me. If someone injected bogus files, or data into existing files, I do.

There's even YouTube videos by the script kiddies, showing exactly how they do these data and file injections and why vB4 is so vulnerable. It's a well known issue vB has never fixed, not even in the version 5 which is in beta right now.