PDA

View Full Version : Technologically challenged

WiccanLiberal
12-17-2012, 11:07 PM
I have realized for a very long time that I am not a techie. I got my first cell phone when they were still the size of a small brick. When it finally began to die, while I was on vacation, I called to get a replacement. The company told me I was eligible for a small upgrade and the most recent second level model. I asked why I couldn't just get a new one like my old one. They looked up the model and laughed at me telling me the model I had was not even made anymore. Bottom line is I get used to a device and dislike change. So V4R drowned his phone in puddle a couple weekends ago and I sent him to get a new one. I mainly pay the cell bill and told him a budget. He purchased an android smartphone on our service for a very reasonable price. He spent a lot of time showing off how cool it was and finally convinced me to make the leap. So I spent time figuring out the apps screen and messaging, and sending calls. Only problem is it took me three days to figure out the simple process to answer a call. Yes the phone is smarter than I am.

aboutime
12-18-2012, 01:46 PM
WiccanLiberal. You're not alone. Not the Lone Ranger here. If you get a chance to see any tv. Check out

"Are you smarter than a Fifth grader".

We older folk ARE technologically Challenged..in many respects. But, we have an advantage over the techies.

We STILL talk face-to-face, using whole words, and understand the language, spelling, grammar, and Human aspects.

jimnyc
12-20-2012, 05:20 PM
I like to think of myself as technically savvy, and I still prefer my older dumb phones. Now I have another damn computer that I carry with me everywhere. It of course has it's perks, but it's also bulky, a pain to text, needs rebooting, batteries don't last as long, programs freeze or fail...

And yet, I can't seem to take my hands off the thing.

Kathianne
12-20-2012, 05:27 PM