PDA

View Full Version : Say Cadet

Robert A Whit
03-30-2013, 02:10 PM
Say Cadet

Should you study the pay scale of officers, and choose to spend time as an officer, I think it safe to say you do not want to be an officer where you are treated poorly by more senior officers.

Since officers command enlisted men, they won't want some jerk who is not up to speed on command and what happens in real full time units, to be bullied around by some new officer thinking he scores points by dumping on the lower enlisted men.

I had a job in the Army were I interfaced with many officers. I saw real good officers and I saw a couple that were terrible in my opinion.

Officers new to my unit at times stopped by to chat with me and asked my advice for their new job. The units are working for some Sgt. A Platoon of men can have 30 EM under the officer and the senior Sgt. A smart officer decides to go to the top Sgt and get his advice. Were I in again, I would find out what officers served as EM for some period of time and ask them too.It is not weakness to seek good counsel.

In the Army, the Officers able to pass out shit details will pick on the lowest ranking officer. That can last for maybe 18 months then the new officer gets his first promotion. I think that a good 2nd Lt only has to be a 2nd for about 18 months then he is promoted to 1st Lt. At that rank,normally the lower Lt gets his share of shit details. A shit detail may be in charge of guard duty. Could be over the mess hall. Can be duty on the weapons range.
I served with officers up to the rank of Col. I found that at that rank, generally the man was very confident and was not interested in playing officer becvause he was a seasoned officer.
In Germany, i farted around with some 2nd lt by not saluting him. He was very unhappy. He asked me why I did not salute him.

I told him when he became a captain I would salute him.