PDA

View Full Version : Is this pattern more common in women?

tailfins
08-10-2013, 05:23 PM
This is posted under health because it deals with organizational psychology.

My vantage point is from Information Technology. A personal back of the napkin tally would say perhaps 50% of male managers and 95% of female managers run the following type of dysfunctional department:

Office politics aren't pretty. You can recognize the symptoms. Leaders don’t trust each other, departments compete against one another, and people suffer from a toxic working environment.
So what can you do when your organization or department is diagnosed with a nasty case of office politics? How can you survive when your company culture resembles jungle warfare? What will it take to start focusing on external competitors, rather than waging internal battles?
I’m not a management consultant, or an expert in organizational development. I’m a tax accountant by trade. My views come from almost four decades of experience as a leader – and now Global CEO – at Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited. And from the perspectives I've gained working with Deloitte member firm clients around the world to solve their most pressing business issues.
Everyone’s a leader, whether you have the official job title or not. And there are practical steps you can take to lead your people out of the political jungle…
1. Be politically savvy, but not political.
If you do nothing else, do this. Be aware of the dynamics driving office politics, but avoid joining in with the games yourself. Rise above it. Stay true to your values and hold yourself to the highest ethical standards.
2. Build trust by admitting your vulnerabilities.