PDA

View Full Version : Accomplishments Late in Life

Perianne
11-18-2014, 08:55 AM
As I get older I am finding that time is running out for me to accomplish things that I have always wanted to do.

One of them was weightlifting. My previous husband would not let me. He said my body was perfect as it was. He died a couple of years ago and I recently married again. My new husband is 100% behind me in whatever I have wanted to do.

I am 57 years old now and have been lifting weights for about ten months. I like the burning in the muscles. I like that I can lift so much more weight now than I could at the beginning. There are some things that have been an advantage to me. First, I am little at barely five feet tall. They say that short people build muscle faster than taller people. Secondly, I have been a nurse for nearly thirty years. All these years of turning and lifting much heavier people have made me much stronger than I would be if my job was sitting behind a desk.

Nearly all my life I have loved to run. Now my running is more like jogging because it hurts my knees if I run fast like I used to. I also do weighted upside-down situps.

Anyway, at this advanced age, I am in the best physical shape of my life.

jimnyc
11-18-2014, 09:06 AM

Awesome, great for you!! Keep at it and "advanced age" is just a term that is not as true as it sounds. Take care of your body and it will take care of you! :)

Perianne
11-19-2014, 10:53 AM
I went last night and met with a female trainer. She was impressed with what I had accomplished on my own at home. I am thinking about joining the gym and let her guide me.

Any thoughts from the men about women with muscles?

gabosaurus
11-19-2014, 10:59 AM
Any thoughts from the men about women with muscles?