PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about Hell and all that...and salvation and time travel.

darin
05-15-2015, 12:36 PM
I'm studying the Decent of Christ. The gist of it is this: Upon Christ's physical death, his soul entered Hades/death/prison/hell and he preached to the souls contained therein - bringing them from that place into heaven.

Many, Many highly educated people will argue various points of what the scripture "REALLY" means vs what is just written. Here's a key portion in several major translations:

1 Peter 3:18-22The Message (MSG) *Caveat - The Message is a paraphrase, not a translation. However, because of that fact it's often the best way to understand the broader point.

13-18 If with heart and soul you’re doing good, do you think you can be stopped? Even if you suffer for it, you’re still better off. Don’t give the opposition a second thought. Through thick and thin, keep your hearts at attention, in adoration before Christ, your Master. Be ready to speak up and tell anyone who asks why you’re living the way you are, and always with the utmost courtesy. Keep a clear conscience before God so that when people throw mud at you, none of it will stick. They’ll end up realizing that they’re the ones who need a bath. It’s better to suffer for doing good, if that’s what God wants, than to be punished for doing bad. That’s what Christ did definitively: suffered because of others’ sins, the Righteous One for the unrighteous ones. He went through it all—was put to death and then made alive—to bring us to God.