PDA

View Full Version : Christie Brinkley and Nonnie

Perianne
09-02-2015, 05:56 PM
I know you two are British. And we Americans don't necessarily know a lot about your culture and life.

What does the typical Brit do for a living? I am a Registered Nurse. Is healthcare there a major employer? How about manufacturing? What do the Brits produce that the world imports? What about automobiles? Do you make your own or import the bunch of them.

America is soooo big that we have a little of everything here. I know Britain is much smaller, so maybe you have fewer natural resources.

In the war WWII, Britain was a leader in electronics technology, inventing radar. Is Britain still a leader in technology?

Christie Brinkley
09-02-2015, 06:14 PM
We virtually don't make cars any more which was what my city Coventry was famous for, all moved overseas. The only cars made in the city now are Jaguars (but not on a large scale) and the black cabs.

Coventry was famous for making engines in WW2 that is why it was leveled in some areas by the germans.

http://www.debatepolicy.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=7638&stc=1

Christie Brinkley
09-02-2015, 06:16 PM
And yes the NationalHealthService is I think the 5th largest employer in the world providing free healthcare to the UK.

Abbey Marie
09-02-2015, 06:17 PM
But you did make my favorite car :cool: :

http://www.ahexp.com/registry/pictures/70840/1960_Austin_Healey_3000_Green_000.jpg

Perianne
09-02-2015, 06:22 PM
So where do you get your cars? Are they mostly American and Japanese?

Christie Brinkley
09-02-2015, 06:24 PM
Japanese/American/German a mix of them. In the states you seem to only get Japanese and American?

Perianne
09-02-2015, 06:27 PM
Japanese/American/German a mix of them. In the states you seem to only get Japanese and American?