PDA

View Full Version : What makes a lasting marriage?

Abbey Marie
12-04-2015, 11:59 AM
I'm sure lots of things do, and I'm not an expert. Mutual respect is a biggie.

How about this:
Women should remember we are married to a Man.
Men should remember we are married to a Woman.
With all that entails.

The person you took those vows with is not your roommate or old buddy.

Thoughts?

*ETA: I am only addressing hetero marriages, obv. I have NO idea how these things work when you are same sex.

Gunny
12-04-2015, 12:25 PM

How about this:
With all that entails.

Thoughts?

*ETA: I am only addressing hetero marriages, obv. I have NO idea how these things work when you are same sex.

Not an expert? Hell, I'm a complete failure on this one. :laugh:

Noir
12-04-2015, 12:26 PM

You have no idea how concepts like respect, trust, sense of humour etc could apply outside the boundaries of a heterosexual relationship? - unless I'm missing the sarcastic twang...

Abbey Marie
12-04-2015, 12:28 PM
Not an expert? Hell, I'm a complete failure on this one. :laugh:

I'll bet you learned some very important things from your experiences.
(I know this is ripe for sarcastic responses, but I don't care!)

What do you think is important for a lasting marriage?

Elessar
12-04-2015, 01:00 PM

Commitment, mutual respect, and some tolerance for personality differences.

Mine ended when I caught her with 2 'boyfriends' and working as a stripper
and pole dancer rather than the nurse's aid job she said she had.

Abbey Marie
12-04-2015, 01:03 PM
You have no idea how concepts like respect, trust, sense of humour etc could apply outside the boundaries of a heterosexual relationship? - unless I'm missing the sarcastic twang...

Feels like trolling...