PDA

View Full Version : Oh Lucky Earthlings!

Abbey Marie
02-26-2016, 02:11 PM
This could easily have gone in Science, too, but anyway...

I'm taking a course on Planets, and every week, the professor at some point talks about how "incredibly lucky" we are that the Earth has this or that feature. Tilt, magnetic poles, etc.

I'm no scientist or astronomer, but it seems to me that if you don't believe in Biblical creation you should have to come up with something a bit stronger than "luck" to explain such things.

If this is indicative of learning these days, I can only imagine the huge crop of Atheists our colleges are currently graduating.

pete311
02-26-2016, 02:15 PM
There are many creation stories. Why choose biblical?

Luck is better than making up a fairy tale.

Abbey Marie
02-26-2016, 02:17 PM
There are many creation stories. Why choose biblical?

Luck is better than making up a fairy tale.

If ya have to ask... :cool:

pete311
02-26-2016, 02:17 PM
and btw, there are millions of planets that weren't so lucky. A lottery jackpot winner is very lucky. 1 in 350 million is amazing. Why is it hard to believe it can't happen with a planet?

pete311
02-26-2016, 02:18 PM
If ya have to ask... :cool:

I know the answer. It's all where you were born. If you were born in India, it would be a Hindu creation story.

Russ
02-26-2016, 02:19 PM
This could easily have gone in Science, too, but anyway...

I'm taking a course on Planets, and every week, the professor at some point talks about how "incredibly lucky" we are that the Earth has this or that feature of the planet. Tilt, magnetic poles, etc.

I'm no scientist or astronomer, but it seems to me that if you don't believe in Biblical creation you should have to come up with something a bit stronger than "luck" to explain such things.

If this is indicative of learning these days, I can only imagine the huge crop of Atheists our colleges are currently graduating.