PDA

View Full Version : Senator Romney?

jimnyc
01-02-2018, 05:06 PM
Orrin Hatch, Utah Senator, to Retire, Opening Path for Mitt Romney

Senator Orrin G. Hatch of Utah, the longest-serving Senate Republican, announced on Tuesday he will retire at the end of the year, rebuffing the pleas of President Trump to seek an eighth term and paving the way for Mitt Romney, a critic of Mr. Trump’s, to run for the seat.

Mr. Hatch made his decision public on Tuesday afternoon via a video announcement.

“When the president visited Utah last month, he said I was a fighter. I’ve always been a fighter. I was an amateur boxer in my youth, and I’ve brought that fighting spirit with me to Washington,” he said. “But every good fighter knows when to hang up the gloves. And for me, that time is soon approaching.”

Rest - https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/02/us/politics/orrin-hatch-retiring-romney-trump.html

hjmick
01-02-2018, 05:58 PM
Speaking of senators, did you know that more people have been to the top of Mount Everest than have been U.S. senators? That strikes me as somewhat bothersome...

Gunny
01-02-2018, 07:14 PM
Think Romney has got a chance?

I personally think that people who pull this crap like Hatch at a critical point in time are just self-serving assholes. Some public servant concerned with what's best for the Nation. Let's throw a critical Senate seat up for grabs.

Black Diamond
01-02-2018, 07:21 PM
Think Romney has got a chance?

I personally think that people who pull this crap like Hatch at a critical point in time are just self-serving assholes. Some public servant concerned with what's best for the Nation. Let's throw a critical Senate seat up for grabs.
Mitt will win if he runs for it. Unless he molested a teenager.

Gunny
01-02-2018, 07:23 PM
Mitt will win if he runs for it. Unless he molested a teenager.Wonder how many wives he has?

Black Diamond
01-02-2018, 07:25 PM
Wonder how many wives he has?