PDA

View Full Version : So say you're a police officer....

jimnyc
04-12-2021, 06:53 PM
And you're on duty and need to pull out your weapon in an emergency situation.

I'm no gun expert for sure. I am not a member of the police. I'm just observing and thinking of my experience in shooting weapons.

When you pull out your pistol and have it in front of you and aiming it at a perpetrator, my thinking is that you would know what you are holding in front of you, you're service pistol or a (usually) bright yellow taser.

I'm wondering what you guys think as to:

If you're holding a taser or a typical police issued gun - would you as an experienced person, feel the weight difference at all? When "aiming" at someone or holding your gun at someone, would you normally "look" at your weapon, even if by glance? What I am trying to establish is whether or not a cop should know better? In addition to feeling and seeing a difference, I would think they would hold their weapons on opposite sides and know what they reach for. And I guess there are times where you may have a taser out but then need to transition to a gun. But again, my thinking is that they should already know what they are holding, and trained enough not to "forget" what is in their hands. The police chief described her as a "very senior" officer, so I would say she has experience.

Thoughts on this one? She even announces "taser, taser, taser" to warn the other officers she was about to deploy her taser - before shooting him.

---

Police Chief: Minnesota Officer Meant to Draw Taser, Not Handgun

The police officer who fatally shot a Black man during a traffic stop in a Minneapolis suburb apparently intended to fire a Taser, not a handgun, the city’s police chief said Monday.

Brooklyn Center Police Chief Tim Gannon described the shooting as “an accidental discharge.” The state Bureau of Criminal Apprehension was investigating.