PDA

View Full Version : Military tactics

10-06-2007, 05:16 AM
I am curious, are there any good books to study military tactics. Even if I never end up joining the military, it is fascinating and Id love to learn for myself tactics and understand what it takes to defeat the enemy.

diuretic
10-06-2007, 05:24 AM
Even though I have no military experience I can advise, yes, there are lots of texts and they are freely available. Having said that I am going to add that it's the limit of my knowledge.

I do remember, many years ago, the BBC used to have a weekly tv programme hosted by General Sir Brian Horrocks http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_Horrocks

There was (this is in the 1960s) no flashy computer-generated images, no whizz-bang noises, no detailed replication of battles or conversations using actors, just General Horrocks - aided by the occasional image or model - explaining what happened in some of the world's greatest battles. It was riveting stuff and he presented it brilliantly. I don't suppose you'd find a dvd of them now but if there was a dvd of that series I'd grab it immediately.

5stringJeff
10-07-2007, 03:43 PM
Sun Tzu's The Art of War.

Gaffer
10-07-2007, 07:34 PM
Jeff's right on that The Art of War is a good start. Also look into the War College, they may offer some interesting reading as well. Just about any history book about specific battles will talk about the tactics used in the battle.

It depends on what your looking for as well. There are squad level tactics (tactical) up to strategic level. The more troops, the more involved the tactics become.

Guernicaa
10-07-2007, 08:15 PM
Even if I never end up joining the military
(Which you wont)

Avatar, you're just one of many young chickenhawk Republicans demanding we stay in Iraq and yet at the same time coming up with some type of excuse as to why you aren't over there serving.
Lemme guess yours..."It just isn't for me"...."I'm going to college"...