PDA

View Full Version : Do a majority of Americans demand strict immigration policy?

Classact
10-29-2007, 09:25 PM
I’m a pro border security/enforcement of immigration laws conservative. And, as a result a couple of days ago I received an email from Roy Beck of NumbersUSA.org. Numbers is the primary group responsible for shutting down the congressional switchboard during attempts to pass the so called amnesty immigration bill and shut down votes on the Dream Act several times. But this most recent email was in support of a Blue Dog Democratic congressperson that is planning to sponsor legislation for strict enforcement (This is a clip from the email)

North Carolina Democratic Representative Heath Shuler will soon be introducing a great immigration enforcement bill:

The SAVE ACT (Secure America with Verification and Enforcement)

This bill (it will have no bill number until introduced) is far more than a gesture to show that Shuler is on the side of the American workers.

Congressman Shuler appears to be deadly serious about getting this bill enacted and removing the jobs magnet for illegal immigration. He is moving the ball on this bill a whole lot better than he did as an NFL quarterback, completing passes to fellow Representatives every day as he gets their signature as co-sponsors on the floor of the House.
I did some web searches to get some background of the House leadership position and how many other democrats support strict immigration enforcement. Below are the links I selected to support this debate.
http://blog.washingtonpost.com/capitol-briefing/2007/06/immigration_three_up_in_the_ho.html
http://www.boston.com/news/nation/washington/articles/2006/11/24/democrats_clash_on_immigration_policy/
http://anepigone.blogspot.com/2006/11/congressional-winners-on-immigration.html