How can a person save money?

Said1
11-20-2007, 09:48 PM
Is it important?

What do you think?

MtnBiker
11-20-2007, 09:51 PM
I do believe saving money is important. The simplest strategy is to spend less then I earn.

Trigg
11-20-2007, 09:52 PM
Is it important?

It's easy, instead of getting that new "must have" item for Christmas, you put the money in the bank.

MtnBiker
11-20-2007, 09:54 PM
It's easy, instead of getting that new "must have" item for Christmas, you put the money in the bank.

Quite true, there are many things that people can choose not to purchase or a less expensive alternative, ie eating at home versus eating at a restaurant.

diuretic
11-20-2007, 11:00 PM
Got a household budget? That helps. It's amazing to find out where the money goes if you keep track of it. Actually, it's not amazing, it's bloody scary. A few dollars here and there mount up. I manage my money on a daily basis and try to restrict what I spend. I'm not that good at it but I've learned to discipline myself.

I've also learned about alternatives. I didn't buy a new computer, couldn't afford one, so I bought a second hand one for more than a third of the cost of a new one, installed a Linux OS for nothing, downloaded all my software for nothing, works fine, does everything I want it to and it cost me nothing.

truthmatters
11-20-2007, 11:21 PM
Auto deposit a portion of your earnings into a savings account. Put as much as you can take into this and you will get acustom to having less money from day to day.

Abbey Marie
11-20-2007, 11:54 PM
Quite true, there are many things that people can choose not to purchase or a less expensive alternative, ie eating at home versus eating at a restaurant.

Words most often spoken by the person who does not do the cooking every night. :)

JohnDoe
11-21-2007, 12:08 AM
I do believe saving money is important. The simplest strategy is to spend less then I earn.