Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Piss Off (Given)
    Piss Off (Received)
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

Default RV/Camper power converter question.

Hopefully someone can help me out here.

Remodeling the inside of my horse trailer weekender area. Upgraded the power receptacle to a 30 amp (previous owner only had a 15amp installed with no ground!). I intended to purchase the 30 amp power converter but accidentally purchased the 40 amp instead not realizing I clicked the wrong model. I plan on running mostly on battery power but obviously if power is available, I will use it.

Is this 40 amp version ok to install/use or do I have to go with the 30 amp?

The model that I purchased: https://wfcoelectronics.com/product/wf-8740-40-amp/

The description of the unit makes it sound like it will be fine but as I am new to all this, I am looking for reassurance.

Thanks in advance!!

2. Likes icansayit liked this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Piss Off (Given)
    Piss Off (Received)
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)

Default Sounds like a great question for GUNNY.

I believe Gunny is the DP Resident Electrician. GOOD LUCK.
    I may be older than most. I may say things not everybody will like.
    But despite all of that. I will never lower myself to the level of Liars, Haters, Cheats, and Hypocrites.
    Philippians 4:13 I Can Do All Things Through Christ Who Strengthens Me:

4. Thanks KitchenKitten99, Gunny thanked this post
    Likes NightTrain liked this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Piss Off (Given)
    Piss Off (Received)
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)

That unit shows 40 amps on the DC output side, which is not the same as the input side. It sounds like your shore power wiring and inlet were recently upgraded to 30 amps and I'm guessing that it is 110 volts ac like your house is.